Obedience

Obedience…

I’m guilty of quitting. How ’bout you? I can recall many times when I have internal quarrels with myself and they can be fights about something as simple as folding the clothes. It goes something like this:

Setting: The dryer just rang its quitting bell alerting me that the drying cycle is complete. My favorite television program is on and I am perched on the couch, relaxed and content.

Good self: “You need to get up off the couch and go fold the clothes in the dryer before they get wrinkled.”
Bad self: “Oh, I’ll just wait and do that when I get up to go to bed. I can run the de-wrinkle cycle and the clothes will be fresh as new. I deserve to relax after a long work day.”
Good self: “Don’t put it off because you will forget all about the clothes in the dryer. You need that black shirt to wear to work tomorrow and by the time you remember the clothes it will be too late; you’ll be running late for work and will not have time to de-wrinkle. You do not need to be late and the black shirt goes perfectly with the gray slacks and blazer. You need to look your best for your important meeting tomorrow. Besides, if you will do it now, you will not have to worry about the affects of not doing it.”
Bad self: “Oh alright! When will I ever have time to relax?!”

Sometimes that good voice in my head gets me all knotted up and tired because she simply won’t let up. She’s always barking out a list of things left for me to do and I feel that I am in a constant mode of checking those things off my list: washing clothes, folding clothes, dusting, making the bed, spending quality time with my husband and children, exercising, eating healthy, drinking my daily water goal, grocery shopping, changing the oil in my car, rotating my tires, paying bills on time, reviewing my insurance policy, checking my retirement statements, making and keeping doctor appointments, staying current in my career field, and the list goes on an on forever it seems. But then I sit back on the heels of my accomplishments and I realize that it’s about one thing…obedience; doing what I should do even when I don’t feel like it. Galatians 6:9 “And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart.”

Leave a Reply

