Blessed Assurance

I awoke this morning before the sun with the hymn Blessed Assurance on my lips. Before my feet hit the floor and before I even thought of rolling out from under the blankets, I was singing the words: “Blessed Assurance Jesus is mine, Oh what a foretaste of glory divine, Heir of salvation purchase of God, born of His spirit, washed in His blood”. As I stumbled to the bathroom to change into my exercise clothes with eyes still sleepy I continued: “This is my story, This is my song, Praising my savior, all the day long.”

Once I got in front of the television to begin my workout, I was wide awake with a joyous smile. So many times I have started my day with intentions to praise God FIRST but my intentions get beat in the race with waking my mind and body. This day, I didn’t even have to think about praising God. His praises were already on my lips before I even thought of getting out of bed. How sweet is that?!

I have no idea why it was this song that I sang. Again, I was somewhere between a restful sleep and a realization that it was approaching morning when the alarm clock trumpeted. Out popped the words Blessed Assurance and then I was up to start another routine day but one that began with prayers of thanksgiving. As I did pushups and crunches, I couldn’t get the praise and worship out of my head.

Later I retreated to my study room and began my bible study with a prayer asking the Lord to reveal His Blessed Assurance to me. I was searching to understand why these words were on my heart and my mouth. Had I dreamed them in the night? Was there some kind of holy peace He was sending my way with these words because I will admit that Blessed Assurance is not my first choice for praise and worship songs. When I want to get into a praise attitude, I’m thinking about Aretha Franklin singing O Happy Day. You know the one…Oh happy day, When Jesus washed my sins away. Or I’m thinking of Jeremy Camp singing Beautiful One. They lyrics go like this…Beautiful one I love, Beautiful one I adore, Beautiful one my soul must sing. These songs ignite the fire of worship in me and I just want to sing and lift my hands to heaven in thanksgiving. While Blessed Assurance is a beautiful song and one that has been tucked into the pages of our Baptist hymnal for many years, it is not one that I generally go to for a worshiping frame of mind. So why was I immersed in Blessed Assurance today??? This was the question I posed to my Lord.

With the softness of His whisper, the Lord spoke to me in my quiet time and simply laid this thought on my heart: “Leanne, no matter what happens today, tomorrow, and beyond, have Blessed Assurance that I am yours and you are mine.” With that, I wrapped up my bible study and jumped in the shower to wash off the old me and put on the new me. Today I am walking a little lighter and little taller in my step because I have Blessed Assurance that no matter what comes my way, I am His and with Him, all things are possible. In the words of Psalms 34:1; I will praise the Lord at all times; his praise will always be on my lips. Blessed Assurance…Jesus is mine!

One thought on “Blessed Assurance

  1. You have Blessed Assurance because you carry God’s love everywhere you go! You are a very bright shining light for Our Father! I am blessed to call you friend! Thank you for such a thoughtful gift both in the mail and on the blog! I too love that song.

    Beth Waller

Leave a Reply

