I AM

I’m sitting in my writing room. I just finished a session of edits on my very first novel. I hope to have this baby ready to send to a publisher soon but I know I must go through the laborious task of editing. In order to say that I have given it my best shot, I must indeed know that I put forth my best effort and so that means that I must peruse through the pages again and again, checking and re-checking the timeline, the characters, the places, the plot, the climax, the subplots, and so on and so forth.

In the background, I am playing a CD of Jewel singing lullabies. It occurred to me that we are all uniquely gifted and while I can carry a tune, I didn’t get the gift to sing for a living. Oh how I wish I could sing like Jewel and in my car, I think I can sing like her. In my car, I can sing like Reba, Faith, and Loretta but outside the boundary of my car I go right on back to being me; non-singer wannabe. However, I do have gifts that others might envy me for. Perhaps if Reba, or Jewel or any of the other ladies knew me they might wish they could be me. I might even go so far as to say that if you, my reader, knew me then you might be a little envious also. Let me count the ways…
I am created in greatness…Genesis 1:27
I am chosen…John 15:19
I am a princess heir to a royal throne…1 Peter 2:9
I am more than a conqueror…Romans 8
I am loved…John 3:16
I am bought and paid for…John 3:16
I am on purpose…Jeremiah 29:11
I am fearfully and wonderfully made…Psalm 139:14

Now that I have established who I am, allow me to count the gifts I have been given…
I am creative.
I am a writer.
I am musically inclined.
I am compassionate.
I am a leader.
I am intelligent.
I am brave.

Now let me count my blessings…
I am healthy.
I have a safe and clean home.
I have food in plenty.
I am clothed.
My mental capacity is adequate for continued learning and contribution.
I have my senses; thankful that I can see, hear, smell, taste and touch His creation.
My worries are few today.
My family is well.
I have a job where the work is meaningful and the pay is generous.
I have friends who I adore and who adore me.
I can walk. I can use my limbs as they were designed.
My lids blink without prompting in order to protect and moisturize my eyeballs…Oh what a creator!
My lungs fill to capacity and then empty again in order to give life breathe to this body…Oh what a creator!
My heart pumps blood through every vein and artery and then back again in a short span of time…Oh what a creator!
My fingers move. My toes move at my command.

See where this is going??? I could go on and on. I’ve had a continual attitude of praise and thanksgiving today and I wanted to share it with you. Have you counted your blessings and gifts lately? Let me challenge you to work on your list. Gratitude changes your attitude. Attitude determines your altitude. I am soaring high so come on up and soar with me. Much love!

3 thoughts on “I AM

  1. I’ve counted my blessings on numerous occasions–even have a blessings journal that I began in 1983. But I’ve never counted my “I AM’s!” Love your list, and the accompanying scriptures. Could become a Bible study, perhaps. Thank you for the inpsiration!

    Thank you also for becoming a follower of From the Inside Out. I’m delighted you find the posts meaningful.

    • Nancy – Thank you for your kind comments and thank you for your inspirational writing. I value your insight. I knew from the minute I read your articles that I had found a true jewel. Have a fabulous weekend. Happy writing…happy reading.

Leave a Reply

